Return of the South…

by

…and a few other old faves

Kegs have been blowing left and right. Since Monday night, we’ve put on eight new beers, and while there are several newbies worth checking out, I’m probably most excited about the return of some old favorites.

I had to fight that beer-hoarding boss of mine to put on the Fort George South, but the bruises and broken nose are worth it. If you missed out on this bizarro-styled beer last time, don’t make the same mistake this go around. It’s a Belgian styled sour ale with a Wit yeast that’s been aged in barrels with raspberries. Needless to say, it’s an insane beer, but it’s also remarkably approachable for the style. And after a snifter of it last night, I’m convinced that it’s even smoother and more delicious than it was before.

IPA-wise, we’ve got a couple of old reliables back on. The Elysian Immortal and the Ninkasi Tricerahops are two of my all-time favorite northwest IPAs. While I haven’t had a chance to revisit the Tricerahops yet, I did have a pint of the Elysian and was very pleased with it. It’s got a solid body for the hops, a nice sweetness that doesn’t overwhelm, and the hops are strong and present all the way through.

Meanwhile, the Tricerahops is a much bigger beer, being an Imperial IPA, but from my memory of it, it’s so insanely smooth and well-balanced that you won’t even notice the 9+ ABV. I’m looking forward to seeing how well it fares on the taste buds this time around.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Return of the South…”

  1. KeAloha Says:

    I can’t believe the best beer I’ve had this year is back. I never thought I’d get to taste South ever again.

  2. zak Says:

    What exactly is a “raspberry barrel?”

  3. mo442 Says:

    I meant “aged in barrels WITH raspberries.”

Leave a Reply

